The idea of donating school chairs to needy public schools started with two brilliant members of the Rotary Club of Cebu, Treas. Stephen Chian and Rtn. Bobong Castillo.

It started with a budget of P50,000 until RCC decided to apply for a district grant. Upon learning of this plan, our very dynamic and supportive PP Joe Soberano informed the Board that he would also find the acquisition of 240 school chairs for Paypay National High School at a cost of over P200,000.

The P450,000 district grant for the manufacture and distribution of school chairs (316 twin-seat bench/desk models and 480 armchairs) was approved. The club purchased the materials and arranged for sub-contractors to provide labor and supplies.

Calero Integrated School, located in Lilo-an, Cebu, was the recipient of 176 twin-seat bench/desks for four (4) classrooms on November 14, 2015.

Turnover Of School Chairs In Tabogon

The club donated a total of 140 twin-seat bench/desks to three (3) different schools in the Tabogon area last February 27, 2016: Labangon Elementary School (56), Loreto Remedios Montebon National High School (28), and Canaocanao Elementary School (56).

The recipient schools in Tabogon were referred by Mr. Clayton Tugonon, another supporter of the RCC. He also catered a sumptuous lunch during the turnover event.

Tapul Elementary School

Tapul Elementary School is about 7km from the highway and another 100mt walk up the hill located in Talisay City, Cebu. A 600 student population with limited water supply, lacks school chairs, a classroom & a roof over a school building. This school was personally surveyed and referred by Rtn. Jacob Ong.

Finding out these facts, the Rotary Club of Cebu then responded donating 200 armchairs to Tapul Elementary School as part of the club’s School Chairs Project last April 16, 2016.

Rotarians, together with the help of the Cebu Runners Club, had to carry all these chairs up in the school (about 500 meters).

Who said we’re too old to carry these chairs? We do not mind the weight, we are happy to serve.

Paypay National High School And Tabuelan Chairs Turnover

Last month, May 14, 2016, Rotary Club of Cebu members and their families travelled about 120km north of Cebu to Paypay, Daanbantayan. Paypay National High School is a Global Grant project of the club. About 240 armchairs were donated.

After Paypay, the Rotarians then ventured to Tabuelan, Cebu. Tabunok Elementary School, Tigbawan Elementary School, and Tabuelan Central School received 24 armchairs each.

Chairs for Schools Program Turn-Over Ceremony

On 13 August 2016, the Rotary Club of Cebu formally turned over to Naga City Mayor Kristine Vanessa Chiong 350 school chairs and distributed them to Inoburan Public Elementary School Naga City, Cebu in the presence of Department of Education officials.

Deed of Donation Signing between Rotary Club of Cebu and the Division of City Schools, City of Naga, Cebu represented by Dr. Senen Paulin, Schools Division Superintendent, for Inoburan Elem. School, Brgy. Inoburan, City of Naga, Cebu

Rotary Club of Cebu Members meet every Thursdays of the week from 12NN to 2PM at the Waterfront Cebu City Hotel.

Get In Touch

Rotary Club of Cebu
2/F CSYGC Bldg.
B. Aranas Extension
Duljo-Fatima, San Nicolas
Cebu City

Phone: +(63) (32) 406-1127

Be in Touch

Subscribe to our mailing list to be updated of Rotary Club of Cebu's latest news and upcoming events.

To visit Rotary District 3860 on Facebook
Connect With Us